About Us - About Troop 27 

About Troop 27 of Fox Island, WA

About Troop 27 of Fox Island, WA

Click for larger image Click for larger image Click for larger image Click for larger image Click for larger image Click for larger image
Click to enlarge photos

Troop 27 was formed in November 2007, sponsored by the Fox Island Community and Recreation Association. We now have 25 boys aged 10 1/2 to 16 years old, in three patrols. We are a 'High Adventure' unit, committed to doing at least one outdoor adventure every month.

The Troop was voted 'Troop of the Year' in the Tacoma/Gig Harbor area in 2008, and we have earned the Quality Unit or Journey to Excellence Gold Award for the past 10 years in a row; for excellence in program, advancement, youth retention and trained leadership.

Donnie Schwendeman is our current Scoutmaster. He can be reached at 253-514-0390, or submit a request using the contact form to reach him by email.

We have 3 Assistant Scoutmasters and six additional Committee Members in our troop leadership. Founding Scoutmaster John Ohlson was named 'Scoutmaster of the Year' in 2008, and is the recipient of the Silver Beaver Award.

We meet twice a month on the second & third Monday of the month, and go on one outdoor outing a month; usually camping, hiking, biking or some other cool adventure.

We have a strong focus on youth leadership and advancement, with a motto of 'Building Tomorrow's Leaders' as our guide.

We participate in a wide variety of outdoor activities, including Camping, Backpacking, Hiking, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Rowing, Climbing, Swimming, Archery, Rifle Shooting, Snow Camping, Survival Training, and much much more.

In November, 2010, Venture Crew 27 was formed, for older boys and girls, ages 14 - 21 years old.

Don't miss out on all the fun! If you would like to learn more about joining Troop 27, please call Scoutmaster Donnie Schwendeman at 253-514-0390, and come visit one of our meetings.

Leadership of Troop 27:
Scoutmaster: Donnie Schwendeman
Assistant Scoutmaster: Andy Morgan
Assistant Scoutmaster: Andy Fritze
Assistant Scoutmaster: Jim Elliott
Committee Chair: Mandy Afrassiabi
Treasurer: Andy Morgan
Activities Chair: Petrina Zusy
Advancement Chair: Ali Afrassiabi
Parent Coordinator: Rennie Walker
Chartered Organization Rep: Jim Braden

Troop 27 Founder: John Ohlson

You might also like these related items: