Troop 27 BSA - Fox Island, WA

Visit our new mobile friendly website

About Troop 27

Troop 27 and Crew 27 on the way to go Whitewater Rafting in April, 2014

Troop 27 was formed in November 2007, sponsored by the Fox Island Community and Recreation Association. We now have 18 boys aged 10 1/2 to 15 years old, in three patrols. We are a "High Adventure" unit, committed to doing at least one outdoor adventure every month.

The Troop was voted 'Troop of the Year' in the Tacoma/Gig Harbor area in 2008, and we have earned the Centennial Quality Unit Award the past 2 years in a row; for excellence in program, advancement, youth retention and trained leadership.

We have 3 Assistant Scoutmasters and six additional Committee Members in our troop leadership. Founding Scoutmaster John Ohlson was named 'Scoutmaster of the Year' in 2008, and is the recipient of the Silver Beaver Award.

We meet twice a month on the second & third Monday of the month, and go on one outdoor outing a month; usually camping, hiking, biking or some other cool adventure.

We have a strong focus on youth leadership and advancement, with a motto of 'Building Tomorrow's Leaders' as our guide.

We participate in a wide variety of outdoor activities, including Camping, Backpacking, Hiking, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Rowing, Climbing, Swimming, Archery, Rifle Shooting, Snow Camping, Survival Training, and much much more.

In November, 2010, Venture Crew 27 was formed, for older boys and girls, ages 14 - 21 years old.

Don't miss out on all the fun!  If you would like to learn more about joining Troop 27, please call Donnie Schwendeman at 253-514-0390, and come visit one of our meetings.

Leadership of Troop 27:
Scoutmaster: Donnie Schwendeman
Assistant Scoutmaster: Andy Morgan
Assistant Scoutmaster: Bill Toney
Assistant Scoutmaster: Ned Waltz
Committee Chair: Mandy Afrassiabi
Treasurer: Andy Morgan
Activities Chair: Petrina Zusy
Advancement Chair: Ali Afrassiabi
Parent Coordinator: Rennie Walker
Chartered Organization Rep: Jim Braden

Troop 27 Founder: John Ohlson

Troop 27 Celebrates Seven Year Anniversary

Troop 27 on the 7th anniversary meeting in December, 2014.


Troop 27 and Crew 27 on the 5th anniversary meeting in December, 2012.

Troop 27 and Crew 27 on the 4th anniversary meeting.

Members of Troop 27 celebrate our third year of Scouting!

Troop 27 - Fox Island, WA
April 2010 - A new group of Webelos joined us from Packs 282 and 264.

Troop 27 BSA - Fox Island, WA
Celebrating the close of our second year, December 14, 2009

One Year Anniversary Troop Meeting
Our One Year Anniversary Troop Meeting in December, 2008
Troop 27 was named Thunderbird District Troop of the Year for 2008.

Camp Hahobas 2008
Attendees of the first Troop summer camp at Camp Hahobas, 2008.

Charter Members of Troop 27
Troop 27's Charter Members at the first Troop meeting, December 11, 2007.

A New Troop is Born

John Ohlson & Chuck Johnston
District Executive Chuck Johnston congratulates new Scoutmaster John Ohlson
on the formation of BSA Troop 27 on November 29, 2007.

Troop 27's Eagle Scouts

Alex Ohlson and Jesse Long Earn the Eagle Scout Rank
New Eagle Scouts Alex Ohlson and Jesse Long pass their Eagle Scout board of review on December 16, 2010, becoming the first two Eagle Scouts from Troop 27.

They both received the 2010 Centennial Edition of the Eagle Badge, celebrating the 100th year of Scouting in America.

All Eagle Scouts who earned the rank in 2010 received this special centennial edition of the badge.

Jensen Bond and Grant Toepfer pass their Eagle Scout board of review on
December 21, 2010, becoming the third and fourth Eagle Scouts from Troop 27.

Max Reetz became the fifth Eagle Scout from Troop 27 on January 24, 2010, and Dallas Thornton became the sixth Eagle Scout on March 14, 2011.

Dallas Thornton, Jesse Long, Max Reetz, GrantToepfer, Jensen Bond and
Alex Ohlson received their Eagle Awards on April 9, 2011,
approximately three years after joining Troop 27.

Sravan Konda, Troop 27's Seventh Eagle Scout passed his board of review on
April 16, 2012.  He is the first Scout in Troop 27 to earn the Centennial Eagle Scout badge, marking the 100th anniversary of the Eagle Scout Award.

Spencer Godfrey, Eagle #8

Nathan David, Eagle #9

Colin Wilson, Eagle #10

Cameron Allen, Eagle #11

Spencer Godfrey, Nathan David, Colin Wilson, Cameron Allen and Sravan Konda completed their requirements for Eagle Scout in 2012, and were awarded the honor at a five-way Eagle Scout Court of Honor on March 9, 2013.

Colin Rivera, Troop 27's twelfth Eagle Scout, passed his board of review on August 12, 2013. 
Eagle Scout Badge

In 2013, the Eagle Badge reverted back to the original design.  All of the following recipients received this version of the Eagle badge.

Thomas Ichiyama, Troop 27's thirteenth Eagle Scout, passed his board of review on November 25, 2013.

Ian Nation, Troop 27's fourteenth Eagle Scout, passed his board of review on April 21, 2014.

Mason Yonkers, Troop 27's fifteenth Eagle Scout, passed his board of review on November 12, 2014. 

Matthew Wild, Troop 27's sixteenth Eagle Scout,
passed his board of review on December 10, 2014.

Daniel Crone, Ian Collins and Jarrett Siler all passed their Eagle Scout Boards of Review on January 22, 2015.  They are the last Scouts to complete their Eagle requirements in 2014.

Mitchell Baltmiskis - Eagle Scout
Mitchell Baltmiskis, Troop 27's 20th Eagle Scout, passed his board of review on February 18, 2015.  He is the first Scout in Troop 27 to complete his Eagle Scout requirements in 2015, and the last Scout to reach the rank of Eagle under the direction of Scoutmaster John Ohlson. 

Troop 27 of Fox Island recently awarded the rank of Eagle to seven of its members:
From Left: Thomas Ichiyama, Mitchell Baltmiskis, Ian Collins, Mason Yonkers,
Matthew Wild, Jarrett Siler and Daniel Crone.  These seven scouts were the last of the first 20 Eagles in Troop 27's seven year history!

Our Newest Eagle Scouts

Nate Waltz became Eagle Scout #22 on June 13, 2016.

Brenden Rivera, Jackson Plymale and Everett Ruuska became Eagle Scouts 23 through 25 on November 15, 2016.  Congratulations Eagles!

Aidan Toney and Robert Zusy became Eagle Scouts 26 and 27 on January 4, 2017.  Congratulations Eagles!


Event Signups & Payments

Troop 27
Boy Scouts of America
Fox Island, WA

Troop 27

Visit our new mobile friendly website

Site Created on November 29, 2007
by Dragonwyck Web Design LLC